Getting started
After installing DIWAX on your local machine make sure to go through the following steps to complete the setup and learn how to connect to the remote server.
The Configuration agent [Menu: Options > Configuration] lets you change the system settings for your local DIWAX installation. While you can modify these options anytime later on, it is a good idea to decide upon the folder locations right from the beginning as they reflect the way you organize your work. Local data folders By default, DIWAX creates a folder structure that departs from the application path chosen during the installation process. To sperate all your user-specific data from the program location (e.g., to facilitate backups) in one single step, just change the Main Folder value in the User Data section. All relevant subfolders will then adjust themselves accordingly. Similarly, you can change the Main Folder for Libraries and Repositories individually. Each library or repository folder can also be set independently from this structure. Note:
Click [Create] to enforce the selected directory structure on your machine if it does not already exist. Language settings While the language of the general user interface is English all metadata values can be described in other languages, too. Currently, translation shells for German and French are available but any other language can be added very easily (let us know what you need).
Chose your preferred language in the International section on the User Interface page; this does not guarantee that you will actually see a corresponding translation for all metadata entries, though. This setting is your first preference, if the desired translation is empty, DIWAX looks for another one. While you are free to provide new metadata in your preferred language only, it is good style to deliver at least the English version, too.
Shortcut: Use [Menu: Options > Language > ...] to quickly switch between preferred languages.
|
When running DIWAX after a fresh installation the program is in "OFFLINE" mode and the active user is "Anonymous" (see lower right area of the status bar). ONLINE vs. OFFLINE mode Online and offline mode refer to whether or not the local client is physically connected to the remote server that hosts the DIWAX ecosystem's data and all community profiles. Only in online mode you can exchange (upload or download) data or modify your profile settings. As all other productive features are also available in offline mode a permanent internet connection is not required. ANONYMOUS vs. IDENTIFIED users Working anonymously (i.e. without a personal user ID) is intended for trial use only. As an anonymous user you can edit existing metadata, design projects, and even download content that has been published to the public domain, but everything that you create this way remains strictly local. You cannot share it with others (or upload it as a personal backup) because DIWAX needs your personal user ID to compose world-wide unique identifiers for your content (see why). Therefore, while the anonymous mode is fine for exploring DIWAX, as soon as you start to work seriously you should get your personal user ID. Getting one is a matter of a few seconds (provided that your computer is connected to the internet):
Your personal user agent lets you provide some more profile information and apply for memberships in existing divisions. Just do as you like. You can modify everything (except your permanent personal user ID) whenever you want to via [Menu: Exchange > Modify Account].
Note: Currently, uploading content is restricted to users that are registered members of a commercial user division. An non-commercial open-access division will be available soon. CONFIRMED vs. UNCONFIRMED login mode and AUTOMATIC LOGIN By default, DIWAX stores the last confirmed user ID and logs it in automatically after every restart (irrespective of the online status). This is called "unconfirmed" login. It allows you to work offline and still create new metadata records that get world-wide unique identifiers. Uploading this content is possible only after confirming the user ID (i.e. by entering the correct password) via [Menu: Exchange > Login]. You might want to disable the automatic login option if more than one user work with the same local DIWAX client (set Automatic to false in the Login Mode section of the user agent and save the new configuration via [Storage > Save] from the agent's menu bar).
|